What is the NIYC?


Across the Canadian Arctic, there are four Inuit regions: Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR), Nunavut, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) and Nunatsiavut (Labrador).  Inuit Nunangat (Inuit homelands) have an estimated 55,000 Inuit living in 53 communities. Inuit youth make up a clear majority of the overall population.

The National Inuit Youth Council (NIYC) was established by the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada, now known as Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) in 1993 to provide guidance and input into issues of interest for Inuit youth in Canada.  Each NIYC representative is tasked with voicing the concerns and ideas of Inuit youth from their respective regions, with the elected President serving as the National voice of Inuit youth.  

The council is made up of six voting members and 1 president, who is elected for a 2 year term every second June. There are 6 regional youth file holders, employed by the respective land claims organizations that sit on the NIYC as the voting members. The Youth Project Coordinator(s) of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK), our parent organization, serve as the secretariet for the NIYC.

Current Members 

National Inuit Youth Council President: Maatalii Okalik, President (Nunavut)

National Inuit Youth Council Vice President: Sarah Jancke (Nunavut) Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Qikiqtaani Inuit Association: Becky Kilabuk (Nunavut)

Kivalliq Inuit Association: Ashley Aupaluktuq-Burton

Makivik Corporation (Qarjuit Youth Assocation): Alicia Aragutak

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation: Vacant

Nunatsiavut Government: Vacant